Dubai International Program for Writing

Overview

Dubai International Program for Writing, launched in October 2013, is one of the most innovative approaches that contributes to enriching the intellectual and literary movement in the UAE and worldwide.

Objective

The program aims to empower and encourage young talents who have displayed a flair for writing in various fields of knowledge from science and research to literature, novel and poetry and help them reach the world.

Presently, the program includes four categories for young talents: Writing, Exchange of writers, My Story (Qesaty) Competition, Translation), and there are plans to include more categories.

First Category: Writing

A panel of writing and publishing experts assesses the work and written samples submitted by youngsters interested in joining the program, according to specific criteria based on talent and language skills. Talented writers who pass the evaluation stage join specialized training programs in each field of writing (fiction, literature, short story, children’s books, science, research, history, studies and feature articles) under the supervision of the finest Arab and international trainers. After the completion of the required training courses, MBRF will publish the works of the candidates in cooperation with established publishing houses inside and outside the UAE.

Second Category: Exchange of Writers

“Exchange of Writers” is an idea based on partnership agreements between the MBRF and international institutions. It includes a competition between young writers in the UAE and other countries, whereby each team stays in the country of the other team for a whole month to experience a different lifestyle and project it on the reality where they grew up. This would enhance their awareness of diverse cultures and civilizations, as they convey their deeper experiences and insights about their stay to the readers, through their literary works that reflect the reality of these experiences.

This cooperation will lead to the publication of books in Arabic and English and in the language of the participants from other countries, confirming the value of knowledge, cooperation and the unity of humans. Two stages of writers’ exchangewere organized with Japan and Germany, and several talents were trained under the supervision of many instructors. Additionally, two stages of book exchange were also organized with Japan and Germany.

Third (Emerging) category: My Story (Qesaty)

The Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum Knowledge Foundation, in cooperation with the Ministry of Education, has launched the short story contest “Qesaty” to promote Arabic language and arts among prep and secondary school students, as well as faculty members and administrators in the UAE. This aims to draw attention to the building of the folk tale, the dissemination of cultural values among the members of society, the preservation of oral cultural heritage, and the consolidation of the popular heritage in the hearts of the people of the state.

Fourth Category: Translation

Aims to qualify and train a generation of young professionals in the field of translating various books and publications. The workshop seeks to attract young talents who will be selected based on their previous experience in the field of translation and will be placed in a five-month intensive course, delivered by a group of instructors specialized in translating literary works, as well as business and and management books. At the end of the workshop, the Foundation issues a collection of books translated by the participants.

Contributions and Results

Since the launch of the Dubai International Writing Program, a series of specialized training courses have been organized in various fields of writing, novel, translation, children’s literature, youth literature, short stories and others. Each training course included a group of courses which extend to five days of direct training. The program has also produced numerous writing awards.

The following winners have been awarded:

 • “Guardian of the Sun” – Eman AlYousuf ranked first in the Emirates Novel Award 2016.
 • “Dynoraf (The Eight-legged Beast)” – Hessa Almehairi (Sheikh Zayed Book Award in the twelfth edition for Children’s Literature 2018)
 • “A Letter From Harvard” – Mariam Alzarouni (Al Owais Creative Award in the twenty-fifth edition)
 • “Limits of Dreams (Sakf Al a’hlam)” – Badria Al-Shamsi (It was decided to be taught at grade four by the Ministry of Education)

برنامج دبي الدولي للكتابة

لمحة عامة

يُعدُّ برنامج دبي الدولي للكتابة، الذي أُطلق في أكتوبر عام 2013 من أكثر الإسهامات الإبداعية في إثراء الحركة الفكرية والأدبية في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة وأنحاء العالم كافة.

الهدف

يهدف البرنامج إلى تشجيع وتمكين المواهب الشابة ممن يمتلكون موهبة الكتابة في شتى مجالات المعرفة من العلوم والبحوث إلى الأدب والرواية والشعر، والوصول بهم إلى العالمية.

ويتضمن البرنامج حالياً أربع فئات لدعم المواهب الشابة، وهي: (الكتابة، خططٌ تبادل الكتاب، مسابقة قصتي، الترجمة)، وهناك خططٌ لتضمين المزيد.

الفئة الأولى: الكتابة

تقوم لجنة من الخبراء في مجالات الكتابة والنشر بتقييم الأعمال والنماذج الكتابية المقدمة من قِبل الشباب المهتمين بالانضمام إلى البرنامج، وفقاً لمعايير محددة تستند إلى الموهبة والمهارات اللغوية، ثمَّ يتم إلحاق الكُتّاب الموهوبين الذين يجتازون مرحلة التقييم، ببرامج تدريبية متخصصة في كل حقل من حقول الكتابة (رواية، أدب، قصة قصيرة، كتبأطفال، علوم، بحوث، تاريخ، دراسات ومقالات) تحت إشراف أفضل المدربين العرب والعالميين. وبعد إتمام الدورات التدريبية المطلوبة، ستقوم المؤسسة بنشر أعمال المرشحين بالتعاون مع دور نشر جديرة بالثقة داخل دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة وخارجها.

الفئة الثانية: تبادل الكُتّاب

تبادل الكُتّاب عبارة عن فكرة قائمة على عقد اتفاقيات شراكة بين مؤسسة محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم للمعرفة ومؤسسات عالمية، وتتضمن منافسة بين شباب الكُتّاب في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة ودول أخرى، حيث يتم تبادل إقامة كل فريق في بلد الفريق الآخر لمدة شهر كامل، وهذا من شأنه أن يعزز الوعي الثقافي لديهم عبر تعرُّف الثقافات والحضارات المتنوعة، ثمَّ يقومون بنقل تجاربهم ورؤيتهم الأكثر عمقاً عن إقامتهم، إلى القرَّاء من خلال أعمالهم الأدبية التي تعكس واقع تلك التجارب. وسيؤدي هذا التعاون إلى نشر كتب باللغة العربية واللغة الإنجليزية وأيضاً لغة المشاركين من الدول الأخرى، مما يؤكد قيمة المعرفة والتعاون المتبادل ووحدة الجنس البشري. وقد تم تنظيم مرحلتين من تبادل الكتّاب مع كل من اليابان وألمانيا، وتمّ تدريب عدد من المواهب تحت إشراف عدد من المدربين. وقد تم تنظيم مرحلتين من تبادل الكّتاب مع كلّ من اليابان وألمانيا.

الفئة الثالثة (الناشئة): مسابقة قصتي

أطلقت مؤسَّسة محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم للمعرفة، بالتعاون مع وزارة التربية والتعليم، مسابقة القصة القصيرة «قصتي »، بهدف الارتقاء باللغة العربية وفنونها بين فئات طلبة الحلقة الثانية والتعليم الثانوي في مدارس الدولة، وكذلك على مستوى أعضاء هيئة التدريس والإداريين في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، وتوجيه الاهتمام نحو بناء الحكاية الشعبيّة، ونشر القيم الثقافيَّة بين أفراد المجتمع، وحفظ التراث الثقافي الشفوي، وترسيخ الموروث الشعبي في نفوس أبناء الدولة.

الفئة الرابعة: الترجمة

تهدف إلى تأهيل وتدريب جيل متخصص من المترجمين المحترفين في مجال ترجمة الكتب والإصدارات المختلفة. وتسعى الورشة إلى استقطاب المواهب الشابة الذين سيتم اختيارهم بناءً على خبراتهم السابقة في مجال الترجمة، وإلحاقهم بدورة تدريبية مكثفة قد تستمرُّ لمدة خمسة أشهر متواصلة يقدمها مجموعة من المدربين المختصين في مهارات الترجمة التخصصية للكتب والإصدارات في مجالات الأدب والإدارة وغيرها من المجالات الأخرى. وفي ختام الورشة عملت المؤسَّسة على إصدار مجموعة من الكتب المترجمة للمشاركين.

الإسهامات والنتائج

منذ انط ق برنامج دبي الدولي للكتابة ا نُظّمت مجموعة دورات تدريبية متخصصة في مختلف ضروب الكتابة وحقول الرواية والترجمة وأدب الطفل وأدب اليافعين والقصة القصيرة وغيرها. واشتملت كل دورة على مجموعة وِرش تدريبية تمتدّ على خمسة أيام من التدريب المباشر.

كما حازت مجموعة من أعمال البرنامج على العديد من الجوائز في مجال الكتابة، حيث حصلت كل من:

• حارس الشمس - إيمان اليوسف (المركز الأول جائزة الإمارات للرواية 2016).
•الدينوراف - حصة المهيري (جائزة الشيخ زايد للكتاب في دورتها الثانية عشرة عن فئة أدب الطفل 2018).
• رسالة من هارفرد - مريم الزرعوني (جائزة العويس للإبداع الدورة الخامسة والعشرون أفضل كتاب للطفل 2018).
• سقف الأحلام - بدرية الشامسي (تقرَّر تدريسه للصف الرابع من وزارة التربية والتعليم).